few questions(windows linux) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default few questions(windows linux)

1 does windows xp has more than one valid key per CD?

2 if yes can i just buy a new license instead of ordering the whole package?( i have a backup copy of a valid retail XP disk from my last PC)

3 i really want to use linux but my last experience was horrible (no support,no software,no drivers, no winamp...)
did linuxget better how close is it to windows as far as usability and support these days?

4 can i run windows software under linux?


psjust some of my opinions on windows)
why i wanna use linux?
because if enough people use linux the companies start supporting linux more and more people will get it and it will break microsoft's monopoly overtime and lower the OS prices hopefully.

because right now microsoft basically owns everybody with a PC(and MAC owns the rest of people with exceptions of linux people and few others)
if u think that MS dont own u and u using windows then why do they implement all those licensing tricks? becaus they know they wont loose customers theres no other choice.
thats why they made it illegal to sell your copy of windows, because they can (you paid for licence why cant u sell it?)

actually did anybody wonder how much of your HD space is wasted for all different kinds of licences and restrictions and copyright code and software agreements in windows?
__________________

raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

#2 yes, u can use volume licensing.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

4. Yes using something like WINE, but not all programs work and program preformance can suffer.
void is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

so basically i can call microsoft and ask them where i can buy a licence and they will tell me without investigation of where and how and why i got this cd from?

is it cheaper to buy a licence alone than whole package?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by raverx3m
is it cheaper to buy a licence alone than whole package?
no, if you have more than one computer, you'll have to buy 1 copy for each. that's why they have volume licensing
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Default

the original serial on a w1nxp.home can be used a few times
but are you saying that if u purchase a license (key) it can be used only once? ive done the whole online verification for the same key a few times so... not criticising, just explain... :-)
dp1dp is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

yes u can use the original serial a few times on that same machine but what i was tryin to say was that only one license per machine.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.