Fdisk need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default Fdisk need help

i need to make a fdisk, so i can use it for my friends missed up computer given a NTDFS missing file.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

.....right.. and you want us to tell you how to..?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

"make a fdisk"?... i thought that's a tool that comes with win 98... ohhh, i think you mean a boot disk.. try google "windows 98 boot disk".. if you have win xp.. i don't know if they have boot disk anymore :| oh yah, i don't think fdisk supports ntfs partitions.. as they developed fdisk before ntfs came..
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by furtivefelon
[B i don't think fdisk supports ntfs partitions.. as they developed fdisk before ntfs came.. [/B]
yes they do.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

if you want a good partition tool, try google "Partition Magic 8.0"
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
yes they do.
mmm.. ok, i was wrong then as i used fdisk about 2 years ago, haven't used it since.. i think Partition Magic's boot disk is a much more powerful tool it supports linux partitons even
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

no i dont waht to partiton the drive someone told me to try with a fdisk to fix this.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

fix what?
what is the problem he is having?
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i keep on getting this error of "NTLDR is missing" i swaped some parts and still getting this crap. On my friends computer when i try to load xp on it. he build it. i checked it fine but its given this error crap.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Will it let you boot?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.