Fdisk issues. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default Fdisk issues.

Hiya,

Today I assembled and configured a system for my friend. So I was ready to format the hard disk [ seagate -80GB-IDE-7200RPM ]

I had windows 98 and windows XP disc. So I started to paritition with fdisk using windows 98 disc.
But fdisk only showed total space as 10GB...I tried again and again using fdisk, it showed only 10 GB. BIOS shows 80Gb

Now, i put Xp disk and used the diskpart to partition and now i can see 80GB. So i paritioned and installed XP.

So what is wrong with fdisk? Am i missing something here.... i thought this was weird and try to get some suggestion here...

Thanks for the help!
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

did you enable large drive support in fdisk? also you could have been using an old version of DOS. download the winME startup disk from bootdisk.com and try it. the bios doesn't show you the capacity of a hard disk, you were reading the ID off that device.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

FDISK reads the data from your BIOS. That's why it is reading lower capacities sometimes. Updating the BIOS may help.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Thanks for the suggestions, i didn't know you moved this from off-topic to windows forum.

Quote:
did you enable large drive support in fdisk?
Yes,I did enable it.

Quote:
also you could have been using an old version of DOS.
I was using the DOS which comes with windows 98 Bootable disk.

Anyz, thanks guys.
intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.