FDC error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2005, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default FDC error

Whilst the pc is loading (on the bios - even before windows)

I get an fdc error. "press f1 to continue" - 2 beeps can be heard.

What is an FDC error? Im not entirely sure....
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

Floppy disk controller error. Probably a dead floppy drive, nice and cheap to replace. Although it could be an error with the actual controller on the motherboard - which will only be a problem if you actually need the floppy drive. otherwise just pull it out of the machine.
__________________

fitzjj is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

My thoughts exactly - but what made me doubt my self - was that it only happens about twice a week. I switch on every day.

So im not sure - my money is on motherboard error.

Thanks for help.
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.