fatal error oe in vxd vpic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2003, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Default fatal error oe in vxd vpic

My friend's pc recently had to have motherboard + video card changed (fried mobo) and since then whenever he tries to get to the web he gets this blue screen error message:
"fatal exception error oe..... in vxd vpicd(01)..."
It happens only when trying to get to the internet. He can connect to AOL and check his emails but can't go to the web pages...

Any ideas as to what is causing this?
Oh, he has 800 MHz pc, with Windows95, Internet Explorer, but not sure what version and 128MB RAM...

Thanks a lot!

dmouse is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

just a thought, but try gettin' your hands on a copy of Netscape Navigator or Communicator, and then use that... It seems to work better w/ 95 for some reason

A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13

No, they did not reinstall Windows after changing mobo....
they gave him new graphics card though, the old one supposedly wasn't compatible with new mobo....

I changed PnP settings to No, but the problem did not go away...
Device Manager does not show any conflicts, but I think the problem might be related to the new graphics card, so I will try to delete and reinstall the drivers. Maybe it will help...

If nothing works, I guess I will have to reformat HD and reinstall the OS.....
dmouse is offline  
Old 06-04-2003, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13

It turns out that downloading and installing new driver for the new graphics card did the trick!
The repair guy must have been very lazy as he never installed correct drivers and the ones supplied by Windows were hoplesly out of date, causing all that headache....

I'm happy to have avoided formatting and reinstalling!!!!
dmouse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.