Fat32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2004, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default Fat32

Hi folks.

I have at current one hard drive no partitions formatted as NTFS with XP Pro.

I have just put in another hard drive which I would like to install 98se, but I cannot format this drive as FAT32, the computer management will only let me format it as NTFS.

Can anyone help ?

Thanks
Copper.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

the drive is larger then 32gb no Doubt... That is the limitation of Fat32 from within windows. You will have to get something like partition magic to do it. The other problem with fat32 is that it doesn't handle files larger then 2GB.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Yep, Partition Magic as Inaris mentioned, or I beleive you can also accomplish this with a Win 98 bootdisk.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have a 40GB hard drive and I used to have FAT32 on it, I converted to NTFS to save space (used space reduced by a whopping 8GB when I converted)
I think you can convert to FAT32 fron an older file system with the 98 disk, but 98 cannot read NTFS so will not be able to read or convert it
I would suggest Partition Magic aswell
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I agree.....I know for a fact that FAT32 has more of a capacity than 32GB. I have an 80GB drive that I started out formatting with FAT32 and it read everything. I would also suggest Partition Magic.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i see a few obvious errors from both of you guys:

I have at current one hard drive no partitions formatted as NTFS with XP Pro

you obviously have at least 1 partition and that volume is formatted with an NTFS filing system.

the drive is larger then 32gb no Doubt... That is the limitation of Fat32........ it doesn't handle files larger then 2GB

somewhat correct, with FAT32 you can have Volumes from 512 MB to 2 TB. In Windows XP, you can format a FAT32 volume up to 32 GB only. File size limited only by size of volume. Maximum file size is 4 GB.

.................................................. ....................................
why do you guys always recommend partitionmagic? that program is not free and you are cheating yourself out of the learning experience. it is the same difference between buying a prebuilt computer & building a computer yourself.

if you do not have a win98 startup diskette you can create one without having win98 installed. through your winXP start button> command> accessories> command prompt change directory and execute the program of F:\tools\mtsutil\fat32ebd\fat32ebd.exe where F: is your CD-rom drive letter.

Copper go to computerhope.com and use their fdisk simulator to practice. use a windows millenium or win98 startup diskette and boot up from it. you can access fdisk with that diskette. delete all partitions and create at least one primary partition. i suggest using up to 15GB only for the operating system volume and create an extended partition with logical drives to hold data for the remaining space

reboot with the floppy so DOS can recognise the newly created partition. format your computer using the DOS command format. all this is explained on that website. if you try to format using fat32 with winXP you may have to create a primary partition under 32GB. this is a limitation of winXP not FAT32 itself.

i would not recommend formatting with fat32 using winXP disk management if you want to create a volume greater than 32GB.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Why not just use the 98 bootdisk... Fdisk etc??
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Oh sorry... Didnt refresh Ek/Esine
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Thanks for the replies.

I do have a start up floppy for Windows ME.

When I load it in it goes through the motions then just leaves me with the A:\ prompt.

Then whatever I type in it just says something like

Abort, Retry, Fail?

I am unfamiliar with MS-DOS.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Copper.
__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Thanks for the correction Ek...
Reason I said something like Partition Magic is because it worked for me. I spent 6 hours trying to get a 120Gb drive formated with Fat32 and had no luck (using XP, 2k, win98). Finally gave in and tried Partition Magic but then was hit with the File size Limitation. (6.4 GB files) So then had to go back to NTFS and then create a 32Gb (stupid XP) partition for DOS access. Thought I read 2 Gb. My mistake for missinformation.
Copper,
what are you typing at the A: prompt. If you are running vaild commands, and recieving the error above, you may need to get another disk(floppy), as it would appear that yours is having trouble.

Good Luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.