Failure to Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2005, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kyle_godfrey
Default Failure to Boot

I own a Compaq Presario 900 with XP HE, and for the 3rd time now in about 2 months, the notebook has failed to boot up. The other two times I took the computer to a local repair shop, payed $200 for labor and gotten it back in working order. Something seems fishy though as the computer has no virus or any other "foreign entities" that should cause a such failure. When I turn the computer on I get this message: "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt. <windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe. Please re-install a copy of the above file." Does anyone know why this could be happening and what I can do about it.
__________________

kyle_godfrey is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Insert your Xp disk into the CD drive, choose "boot from command prompt" when the menu appears.

Type in the following at command prompt

copy d:\I386\Driver.cab c:\system32\ntoskrnl.exe /v

if D is the letter of your CD drive, use whatever applies

press enter

Take the CD out when complete and reboot.
__________________

tamtam777 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kyle_godfrey
Default

I believe I sent you a pm, but let's see. Thanks for the advice tamtam. I have another question. How do I save files that are on the computer before I do this process, or do I need to. Will they still be there after I do this process? Thanks.
kyle_godfrey is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

...tamtam's fix will only replace (restore) the ntoskrnl.exe, nothing else. So there is no need to backup (however you should frequently even though ure PC works fine )

However, just a warning...have you recently installed SP2? I don't think the ntoskrnl.exe file on the Windows XP with SP1 Installation CD is compatible with SP2. Trying won't harm it though ...
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 08:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kyle_godfrey
Default

Thanks guys. I've got to wait a couple of days to get my cd's mailed to me from Atlanta, but I'll keep ya'll updated on what I can do. Thanks again.
kyle_godfrey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.