failing hard drive with OS on it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default failing hard drive with OS on it

I beleive my new hard drive (5 months) that has my OS installed on it is beginning to fail. Can I buy a new hard drive and copy everything from the failing one to the new drive before things get worse? I could reinstall all my software again but that takes me a good portion of the day to get everything back up and all the updates re-downloaded.

Thanks.
__________________

smallblock is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You can use Symantec/Norton Ghost to take a "snapshot" of the one hard drive and transfer it to the other one. YOu should be able to boot off of the new one with all of your files right where you left them.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

great suggestion!
or u can set up windows xp on the new hard drive, and just use your old prime one as a slave and then copy what u want onto the new. but i suggest using norton ghost.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Ghost rocks
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

^^That doesnt answer his question
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
^^That doesnt answer his question
He's padding!...

smallblock, yer best bet is probably to just slave that failing drive under your new one, create a new install on the new drive, and just transfer over your important files. A clean install is always best. Then you can just use the old drive for unimportant storage and games and stuff.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Problem with the above solution is that as the drive dies, it will cause trouble for your current system. General slow down will be the big one. Ghost is the easiest way to do it, as long as the drive is going.
You need to run Checkdisk on the old drive first and see if it really is going bad. if it doens't report any errors then you have nothing to worry about. if it does, then you need to ghost the drive off onto a new one. it's the best solution you have. The ghost will not take the bad stuff. it only takes files that are readable and will setup your box as it was before. then you just need to run checkdisk again and defrag. This is to rearrange the data back to a better configuration.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If the slave drive dies, it'll simply drop off the system (unless he's using it at the moment). Current controller technology is a lot more forgiving than it used to be. You can actually reach in and yank out the IDE drive while the computer's live, with no problems (other than that you'll probably damage the drive yer yanking out).
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

Thanks guys, but it just bit the dust. I did manage to copy all my files and address book, website favorites before it died. I am going to pick up a new HD today and start reinstalling everything. I will look into the warranty info for the dead unit after my computer is back up and running. I am having Counter-Strike Source withdrawl already!!
__________________

__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.