EXTREMELY slow activity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default EXTREMELY slow activity

After coming home from school i turn on my comp and play a few games and talk on AIM a bit then i restart for whatever reason and it restarts fine, except when I go to do anything (click start,open task manager, or ANYTHING) my comp slows down as if it had 2MB of ram, my mouse lags across screen and if i can open a program it actually opens about 2 minutes after clicking the shortcut. Usually this problem goes away after a day but i continue to have this problem about once every month. What can I do to fix this or even just open a program? I have a memory manager which shows me how much free ram i have left and when i start up i have 1GB free (1.25GB total), whats wrong with this thing?

If it matters any i have WinXP SP2, and also SuSe Linux 9.2 on dual boot. both are on the same hdd on different partitions. Linux runs faster than windows ever did on my comp also.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

My neigbour had the same problem. Un-installing SP2 di not help. I would format, but first re-install your graphics card drivers.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I might just reformat because it's acting so slow that I can't even open the properties window or even right click the desktop to get there.

Thanks for the reply.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I just thought of something, i used to have this same prolem about a month ago before i reformatted last week. So is it just my computer? maybe my overclocking has put it to shame

I think its time to get rid of my celeron:money: :money:
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No. This sounds more like a software issue.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 02:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
btv
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 120
Default

ctrl+alt+delete
if a program is not responding,it can slow a computer down.
__________________
.
btv is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

check your drivers like TheMajor said. It is most likeley a software issue. You can do this by winblows updat or finding some drivers from your manufacturers website.

Right click on My Computer, Hardware (I think) and some button like Device info or something. You can change/update/install drivers this way.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You could have to mant startup items, try disabling all of them except your antivirus.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I can't open anything as i already said, not even ctrl+alt+del (task manager) i don't have antivirus software, I Like to take chances, i've never used a-v. How can i boot into safe mode? F8?
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Do an online virus scan and yes f8 (usually) gets you to the safe mode option, I don't know how far you'll get if you do have a virus which it does sound like.
__________________

Eddie Haskell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.