Extra 8 MB Unused Partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2005, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default Extra 8 MB Unused Partition

Hi,
I recently installed Microsoft Windows XP Professional on my new built computer, and I'm wondering why it has created an extra small unused 8MB partition. When I use Partiton Magic, it displays the XP NTFS partiton and then a small unused partition next to it.
Is it safe to enlarge the XP partition so that it takes over this unused space?

Thanks.
__________________

cssadmin is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that is just an extra partition for booting the mother board. just leave it there it doesnt show up as a drive.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default

thanks for your post.
the reason I'm asking this is because I want to dual-boot another operating system and I am wondering whether I can use this space for the operating system, or whether I NEED to keep the partition free
cssadmin is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
that is just an extra partition for booting the mother board. just leave it there it doesnt show up as a drive.
??? Are you on crack, this have nothing to do with the motherboard.

XP for some reasons awlways leaves 8 meg of ununsed space, dunno why.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I believe it's for NTFS caching or something. Might be error checking too. I found it once. Now I have to go look again.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks for your posts.
I found this on the web which may be the reason

Dave asks - When doing a clean install, I deleted all previous partitions and created a new one. For some reason, XP wants to create an 8 MB partition instead of allowing me to use it for my partition.

mtruitt answers:
That 8 meg partition is autocreated to handle dynamic disk information. When a disk is converted to dynamic in the Disk Management snap-in, information regarding the configuration and any dependencies (e.g. software RAID) are stored on disk at the end of the drive. This is how a drive can be moved from one dynamic disk array to another and be recognized as foreign drive.

Larc inquires:
Wonder what the reason is for that, Mike? Why make default preparations for something most people don't use? If anybody is going to be inconvenienced, it should be the minority!

mtruitt comes back:
The reason is that the space needs to be there should a user decide at any time during the life of the Operating System that they want to enable dynamic disks. The 8 meg is there for so that the option to enable dynamic disks does not mean an Operating System reinstall. On the down side, it does mean that users lose 8 meg of the drive.

what are dynamic disks?
cssadmin is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that 8mb part is the MBR (Master Boot Record)

it's where they (MS) keep little info about things such as partition and other stuffs. they can also put stuff there to stop you from doing things, like when install xpsp2 it won't let you reinstall sp1 on a fresh format.

they also lock people computer in the past, for having certain bootleg keys on their machines. and you couldn't reinstall windows on that locked computer.

if you get a boot sector virus and reinstall windows, you will have the same problem

but powermax can alway clean the bootsector. fdisc and the xp cd can't
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Sorry Eric but I disagree with that. The MBR is always at the begining of every harddrive and is only about 512 bytes long. Beside how is it going to work if it's unallocated?

I don't have that 8MB on my harddisk, because I did not use windows formatter instead I use partition magic. When you use windows to format your harddrive it will put 8mb of unallocated partition so you can retain the ability to convert the drive to a dynamic volume. Without it you may not be able to.

What's dynamic? check this site kind long to explain

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...b_cnc_whjq.asp
Law is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 07:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Sorry Eric but I disagree with that. The MBR is always at the begining of every harddrive and is only about 512 bytes long. Beside how is it going to work if it's unallocated?

I don't have that 8MB on my harddisk, because I did not use windows formatter instead I use partition magic. When you use windows to format your harddrive it will put 8mb of unallocated partition so you can retain the ability to convert the drive to a dynamic volume. Without it you may not be able to.

What's dynamic? check this site kind long to explain

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...b_cnc_whjq.asp
you don't have to agree with me.

everybody else it's the mbr. with xp it is 8mb long. now it can be at the beginning or at the end of your hard drive. one of the tools included in it, is the abilty to convert those discs to dynamic.

if you have more than one drive you canformat that part. you can format that part with just one drive. however, you will lose the abilities to do certain things like running a dual boot system.

instead of arguing with me, look it up
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 07:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I did look it up and theres nothing about the 8mb being used as the MBR. As I know the data to configure dynamic volume is the last 1mb at the end of the hard drive. Windows allocate 8MB of it. Sorry but BIOS is program to search for the MBR at the begining of an active partition.

Not trying to be rude but can you back up your claim with a reference? I already google it and nothing.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.