Extension CAPS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Extension CAPS

For the unknown reason, since last week, every new file I create has an upper case extension (.TXT instead of .txt). Annoying.

As far as I remember I didn't changed some related configuration manualy, maby some program did it during installation.

Any ideas how to get it to normal, lower case extensions defaults?
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can u post a screenshot?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Screenshot? What for?

I'll type it instead:

When I created a new file (for examnple using right click>new>text document, or Save As...) before the problem, it's default name looked like: "New Text Document.txt"

And now when I create new file, the default name is: "New Text Document.TXT"

I hope it's more clear now.
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

im not sure how do reverse that yet but i know a quick workaround, if you go into folder options and click on view, hide extensions of known file types, uncheck that
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Well, I know that, but I do a lots of file management all the time, so it really helps when I see the extensions.

It's the uppercase thing that bothers me.

Any ideas? Anyone?
__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.