Explorer won't come up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2005, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Default Explorer won't come up.

I have a problem with my desktop computer. When I try to log in with any of my accounts, the taskbar or anything pretty much won't come up. The only thing that comes up is the background. All I can do is get into task manager, which does nothing. Any advice?
__________________

hotwheels8 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default usual Scans

Have you restarted in 'Safe Mode' and carried out the usual cleanup and scans.

(1) Disk Cleanup
(2) Scan Disk
(3) Virus Scan
(4) Spy-Ware Scan
(5) Registry Mechanic
(6) Defragment

I know you don't need to carry out all these for your problem but while your in safe-mode you may aswell for a good tidy.

From here you are at a better position to diagnose your problem.

Also:

Start > Run > MSCONFIG > STARTUP

and uncheck stuff that you don't require every time the computer boots.

Hopefully after freeing up resources, clearing out crap and ordering your system you will beable to boot into Windows Explorer.

Otherwise it is a more serious problem.
__________________

Kriskringle is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

CTRL ALT DELETE > Find the run button, type explorer.exe

See if that works
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 09:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Well, if what CHRIS said doesn't work, then you've probably got some type of malicious code (spyware, malaware, virus, trojan, etc..) on your computer, that's canceling out any request for "exploere.exe" to start. Also, have you modified "explorer.exe" lately? I know you can modify it, for example, to say something else in place of the word "start" on your start menu. If you've done that, you might have saved it as something else, or messeed "explorer.exe" up and made it unstartable. Also, if you've done this type of editing, you also might have possibly changed where your computer looks when it starts up, for "explorer.exe," which is located in the registry at
Code:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon
.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.