Essential Windows Services for a Network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Essential Windows Services for a Network

What are the essential services to connect to a windows network?

I was disabling some services to stealth my PC on a lan, and I messed up :/ Need to connect to a LAN i shouldnt be connecting to.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Every Network Is different, Did you happen to make a list of the deleted services ? Most Likely your answer will be no; In that case mirror your buddies computer next to you. If you have SYS admins on site, ask them.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

The best thing to do is to enable everything to the way it was. Then google the service BEFORE you disable it. You then know what it is, what it does, and if you need it or not. Remember kids the info is out there, just look for it
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

dj-chris, you know that if the net work guy is worth anything, all he has to do is look at the router, and you are seen...
I don't think you need any services to connect. You just need to assign your self an IP to get arround. The services are there to keep the machine talking to the servers.
Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

We need services because I dont even get stuff under network connections

And to bradybnmci, this is a school network I am connecting to. Now due to an exclusive IBM nazi agreement, only IBM computer's may be connected to this nazi network. People always however connect mac's.

With a network of a thousand computers, their not going to notice another entery on the rou ter

Back to enabling all the services we go...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you are on a school network, do you login to a domain ?
If so, all you need to do is restart the computer. If that still does nothing for your services, pull down your GPO. Your networks services should be pre-defined inside the Group Policy for your machine/username.

If that doesn't work, tell them to hire me as their Admin !
= }
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No im not logging in, this is my personal non IBM laptop. I know about the policies, their all on my USB key *hush hush*

GPO will not affect stealthing a PC by disabling services, i think if i keep on all the defaults except NetBios, it would work.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.