errors writing wav and midi to CDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default errors writing wav and midi to CDs

I really don't know all the details on this, so let me apologise beforehand, but a friend asked me to try and figure this out, and I decided here would be a good place to start. She is trying to burn .wav and .midi (?) files to CDs and is getting errors. she is using Winmediaplayer, and I think it is 9 series. here is about all I know about it:




I am going to try to get her tp register here so she can help explain it, but for now I can't get ahold of her. sorry for being so sketchy on the details, but I doubt she knows any more about it than I do.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

im not fond of MP9, but i dont think waves are supposed to be burned that way. see, when you have mp3s, u need special programs to decompress the file into a WAV. With just wav files, i think you have to burn it as though it was a data CD
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

She apparently has already tried writing them to a CD as data. any other ideas? or maybe a reason why that didn't work?

*Is trying to convince her to come here and explain it*
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

that would probably help a bit......maybe just a little ¬¬
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

yeah yeah I know.... Cut me come slack here, it's not as easy as it sounds.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "The Matrix: Reload-it!"

I hear Yah...

The truth is, Windows media player isn't a good choice for something that has to do with copying music files to CDs. Mostly Because of it's So-Called "Security features" that detect Copyright infragments like that. And because of that i wouldn't recommend any program from Microsoft. Try this instead:

www.apple.com/itunes

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

also, she didn't just 'rename' mp3's to a .wav and not actually convert them, did she?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 02:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

I have tried Itunes, and it is ABSURDLY high rescource, it takes about 3 minutes to launch, and after you do everything slows down to the point where you can't do anything constructive. I deleted it a LONG time ago, and I am not going to reccomend it to someone with a slower computer than mine.

I really doubt she would even toutch the extensions, I will ask anyways.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Arrow "Sorry about that..."

iTunes is one of those Macintosh programs turned Windows that take-up a S****load of memory and recorces, because apparently, Macs can handle allot more than PCs can. But I still hate WMP because of it's Multitude of Quirky errors and missing features.

Anyway, maybe you'll find what your looking fore here:

www.versiontracker.com

__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.