Error when playing DVD with any DVD playing software. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default Error when playing DVD with any DVD playing software.

I bought a PC recently and I swapped the CDROM with my DVD/CDRW combo drive (which I have used for years in my old PC with no playing problems).

Whenever I try to play a DVD I get the error message.
" * has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvinience."

I put * because I have tried many DVD software to try with but have the same error.

I also have an iso of a DVD that I try to mount onto a virtual drive and still get the same error. This makes me believe that it isnt my DVD/CDRW combo drive that has the problem. So what else could it be?

For some reason I thought to try uninstalling my onboard video drivers and run it with none. Of course it didnt work. Then thought to try my old TNT2 card from my old pc. Same error again.

So Im out of idea's...

Any help would be nice
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you tried some codec's? Like KLite? Try installing those and see if it helps any.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I tried it thanks but unfortunatley it didnt work. Still same error.
I'd like to copy/paste the error report if it were any help to anyone except I cant figure out how to copy it
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you tried things like Real Player, Quicktime, PowerDVD, InterActual Player? I know you said you tried everything but what about VLC and Divx?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 01:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I have tried:
WINDVD V3.1
WINDVD V8.0
ACTIONDVDPLAYER V?.?
WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER (Various versions)
VLC V0.8.2

VCL works. Although it doesnt really solve the problem of why the other software dont work. I guess now I'm being picky but prefer WINDVD to work. Ive done some windows updates overnight hoping it would solve something but no. And there is no conflict at all in device manager. Thanks Makaveli213 for the idea of VLC but would very much like to have the ability to use any software that should by rights work as well.
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I think this is turning out to be a DRM issue. Are you running Vista and do you have a DRM compatable monitor? I think that is where you are having issues.

If you dual boot try it within XP and see if it works with the applications. If it does there is definately something with the Vista DRM that is blocking it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Yea sorry it is XP I am running. I just changed my quote with my specs. It is also the same monitor I used on my old PC.
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Hmm what kind of video is it? It just seems odd that there is nothing that works with it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 05:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I play any dvd and get the same result.
Original DVD's (I tried Grease, American History X and Robocop (All Reigon 4) and copied DVD's are the same.

If I copy Grease for example into an iso, and mount it the error still appears.

So it is very odd
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 05:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 47
Default

Could it be a driver issue?
__________________

t3ch_threads is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.