Error on startup.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Unhappy Error on startup....

I have just started to get the following error when starting up my PC:

RUNDLL
An exception occurred while trying to run C:\windows\system32\kwdkaz.dll,umonitor

I don't know what this means but I do know that since getting this message each time I have noticed firstly that the Recycle Bin had 3 items in, which I had deleted before Shut Down, and that programs in the Control Panel Add/Remove section were back that I had removed before shut down too. I can't do a system restore as there are no restore points previous to this happening even though I always have System restore switched on.
I know that I had a lot of spyware on my system which I have removed today. I don't think I have a virus as I ran Norton 2004 and it came up clean.

Not sure what to do, any ideas?

Thanks
__________________

gill501 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Forgot to say that my PC is a PB iMedia 5 years old running XP Professional, Service Pack 2.
__________________

gill501 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I don't trust norton AT ALL...
To me ... norton seems to be the number one reason why machines are ruined. Here is my example...
people run norton and it shows a clean machine...
Yet norton doesn't find spyware and other malacious app's that can pass through IE/Firefox....

I think you should back up your important things and reformat...

ps... Trouble shooting a virus/spyware issue will take you 1,000 times longer than re-installing your O.S
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Just wanted to post and say that I've solved my problem myself... I ran adaware, norton antivirus 2004, reg mechanic..... and deleted Kazaa...... which I will probably never use again as it is the bain of my life !

Thanks all.
gill501 is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Besides norton here is the issue

Something removed a program, but not 100% of it. Upon booting it wanted to run that that .dll

To fix thsi in the future, click start > run > msconfig > deselect it from in that program
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.