Error message when you install or start an MS-DOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Error message when you install or start an MS-DOS

The fix that most people suggest does not work for me.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324767
I am trying to install the Microsoft C++ visual 6.0
This is what i have tried inputting into the cmd and here are some of the outputs. I am unsure why it cannot find it since I have searched and it is there
http://img50.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error329yw.png
__________________

lothia is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try doing it from the root c directory, c:\
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Change the E:\ to a C:\ ? I tried that and it gave me the same thing
Should I put the CD-ROM in it? I have tried with and without and neither ways work.
lothia is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.visualtour.com/downloads/xp_fix.exe

try that file and reboot

This installation program will reinstall the missing or corrupt Windows XP system files command.com, autoexec.nt and config.nt. The absence or corruption of one or more of these files causes a "16 Bit Subsystem" error.

XP_Fix.EXE by TRF Systems, Inc.


You have possible spyware that could be deleting these files

Running Audit on my computer showed that a program called
WINDUPDATE.EXE (not WINUPDATE.EXE) was deleting my Autoexec.nt file on boot
up. If I replaced the file it would delete it again. Go to \Program
Files\WINDUPDATE folder and delete it!

Go to your registry and delete anything named WINDUPDATE. Put the Autoexec.nt
file back into your \system32 folder and all is well! This was definately the
problem here and I bet most everyone has the same nasty bugger, WINDUPDATE.EXE
on their infected computer.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Thanks for the file!!!! I didn't find any WINUPDATE.EXE anywhere in my system but, I ran it anyway and it fixed it. Wish I would've seen this months ago. Coulda saved a ton of headaches.

Andy
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you that did the trick :-)
That file saved me
lothia is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

Welcome......
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.