error loading zmhakwg.dll - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Unhappy error loading zmhakwg.dll

When I boot up my PC i get a RUNDLL dialogue box coming up stating, "error loading C:/windows/system32/zmhakwg.dll".

I've now noticed that I can't double click any program icons, or folders to open them.

I have windows xp home, and ad-aware and AVG anti-virus installed.

I don't have the windows xp disc to re-install the operating system.

This is driving me crazy, any help appreciated.
__________________

pete mo is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

haven't you read the rules?
START A NEW TOPIC! :amazed:
__________________

Yek is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

Sorry about that wrong forum for a start :P , i will try and answer
Maby the zmhakwg.dll is missing or corrupt?
have a check to see if its where it says it should be and then if it is missing we'll go from there
Yek is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 06:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default error loading zmhakwg.dll

Sorry for posting in wrong thread, but thanks for replying. I've just checked, and the dll is not in the folder.
pete mo is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

personally i dont have zmhakwg.dll in system32 either so i dont even know what it does? , is it for a program thats gone corrupt do think ? , also i googled zmhakwg.dll for you and returned no results , i think i would have to go for a reformat here
Yek is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 06:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

How long ago was it? , system restore?
Yek is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default error loading zmhakwg.dll

It could have been removed in a Ad-aware or avg sweep. It's been hapening for a few days. Unfortunately, I can't go back to an earlier config as I didn't have system restore switched on (doohhh!) as I was advised (badly) to keep it off. D'you reckon theres any other options available or would it be best to re-install Windows - if I can find a disc?
pete mo is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

personally i think youve got a corupt program going on there because everytime you start windows something is calling that file to be ran am i correct? , check startup things like autoexec.bat and so on , for now though leave it in hibernate
__________________

Yek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.