Error loading operating system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2004, 01:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

ooooya i have it set to turn off the harddrive when it times out


im looking at it right now trying to change the setting on my computer setup and disk time out is a different color than all the others and it wont let me change anything
__________________

__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drumerdudeman
ooooya i have it set to turn off the harddrive when it times out


im looking at it right now trying to change the setting on my computer setup and disk time out is a different color than all the others and it wont let me change anything
See if you can change it in safe mode
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

i got the disk and tried to boot off of it and repair but it didnt even bring up a menu or anything off the disk

i made sure the drive was first in the boot order and also told it directly to boot but it just waits a little and gives me the same error loading operating system message

i dont understand why its doing this, all the other similiar threads where this happened to someone it was be cause they changed their hardware, but i didnt do anything the computer was just sitting there
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

someone suggested trying to work on it in safe mode

how do i get to safe mode and once i am in safe mode what do i do

if you know anything please help i need this computer back and working

also do you think all my files are gone because i have alot of music and stuff on there
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Default

safemode is part of windows xp so that wont work, this also happened to me and I tried SOOOO many ways to fix it but I ended up having to reformat...

and yes I tried the repair option on the disk
Ebene is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

what exactly is reformatting and did it work

did you lose all your files

and did you even get to the repair option because it wont even come up when i boot
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

oops i ment to reply to another forum and posted that

how do i delete it
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

haha the last post was wrong, i thought i had started a new topic, forget the last post
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 05:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

do you think something is wrong with my drive because it wont load any cds
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Ive had this problem before. To fix it go into your bios and change your hdd's access mode to LBA. Thats what fixed it for me.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.