Error code: 0x8007007F - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default Error code: 0x8007007F

So Im doing some stuff to my PC remotely from work

I have a 40 Gig hard drive that my OS is on, and I HAD 120 Gig slave drive. I wanted to break that drive up to use it more efficiently. So I deleted the partition, reformatted about 45% of the drive and was going to go back later and create my extended partition etc.....

Now when I try and log on I get:
" A problem is preventing windows from accurately checking the license of this computer. Error code 0x00....

After some research apparently this is due to the hardware change I did (re-partitioning).

I can't try safe mode, because im working remotely, but anyone ever have this issue? Any suggestions?

I have a corporate version (legit) of Windows XP (because I do some work from home), so re-installing Windows is an option I know, but I would rather not do that.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Wow, this is freaky stuff. When I log one with one admin account, it logs on fine, the screen saver shows up, but nothing else.

When I use another user account, I get that error message and it won't log on.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I can only think of trying to redo the partitions. Either that or go to the PC and use the windows disc to partition. Maybe there is something going on that the remote connection is failing and that is why you are having problems. I think you need to go check out the Pc and see if there is something going wrong with it. Maybe the drive is failing.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
I can only think of trying to redo the partitions. Either that or go to the PC and use the windows disc to partition. Maybe there is something going on that the remote connection is failing and that is why you are having problems. I think you need to go check out the Pc and see if there is something going wrong with it. Maybe the drive is failing.
It never fails, I relgiously back my stuff up. I clear that drive for 10 minutes to repartition it and this **** (excuse the language) happens.

I guess I have to pray when I get home that I can boot into safe mode and do a system restore.

Otherwise I'll have to switch my drives, re-install, then get all the data off the original drive
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It could still be the drive failing. Read head crashing, Disc platter off center. There are many things that could have happened when you repartitioned it. Just never know. Maybe a cable got knocked lose or soemthing. One never knows the circumstances unless they are physically around the machine at all times to know what could have happened to it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
It could still be the drive failing. Read head crashing, Disc platter off center. There are many things that could have happened when you repartitioned it. Just never know. Maybe a cable got knocked lose or soemthing. One never knows the circumstances unless they are physically around the machine at all times to know what could have happened to it.
Agreed, now im chomping at the bit to get home to have a look.

Weird thing is I never did anything to my primary drive with the OS on it, this is just a slave drive I was messing with.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

did you have a dual boot system on that drive?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

No, no dual boot.

When I got home I just rebooted, it ran a disk check and I was back in business. Phew!

Thanks for you help guys
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.