Endless loop in Windows 2000 install - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 09:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, that's exactly what I get.

I don't use msn messenger. I guess I can get it.

Right now it is "performing final tasks" for the hundreth time.

What does that mean that I get that screen?
__________________

kimC is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

ok, does it always restart in the exact same spot or within a few seconds or w/e, im guessing ur past the welcome screen, and ur past the name, organization, time zone, serial all that junk, and then it got to the screen where it says setting up start menu, configurizing settings or watever the other 3 things on that men u are...is that where it is?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

right. I never got to the time zone stuff, etc. It always restarts saying at that half text have graphic screen, then goes to start menu, configuirng blah blah blah.

I've downloaded msn, and configuring now.
kimC is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

ok, half of this almost makes no sense, in order to get to the part that i think ur at u have to be passed the serial, time zone settings and all that. but ok, do u by chance have a digi cam? if so take a pic of the last part before it restarts, and send it, if not take down all the text in the last window and type it up, once u get ur msn messenger configured and stuff add gtp_96@hotmail.com
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I am online with msn. kjsrbc@comcast.net is the user name.
kimC is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 10:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Still looking for help if anyone out there has any ideas.
kimC is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 08:53 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

well if anyone decides to help, i'm pretty sure i narrowed it down to hardware compatibility. This computer is trying to be upgraded from windows 98 to windows 2000, she won't do a fresh install unless she can backup files first. She doesnt want to go through the trouble of that yet tho. The install almost completely finishes, when its performing final tasks it restarts(note this IS AFTER network setting up and all user intervention. It is also after its setting up start menu and all that other junk. She has tried 2 cds and they both do the same thing, so I'm guessing its hardware compatibility which makes no sense because if windows 98 runs fine....why wont 2000? I made the suggestion to try and downgrade to 98..its the only thing i can see that could possibly work but unless anyone has any other suggestions please fill us in.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:06 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Update:
I solved my problem. I had to boot from the install disk, and run the install that way. Sadly, this gives me two choices of systems on boot, but I can live with that situation since I don't know how to delete the bad one.

In any event, I am into the machine, and the data is intact. Many thanks to my new friend delldude for walking through the problem with me late last night.
kimC is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 04:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

well congrats, can u boot into 98 or is that partition damaged?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 11:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

It is now a Win 2k box and NFTS partition. Just like I wanted
__________________

kimC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.