END NOW Message - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2005, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default END NOW Message

Ok quick question...hopefully,

The End Now message that i think anyone with Windows has seen is causing me problems. I was wondering if there was some way to stop it from poping up. I am not looking to fix a current piece of software but to prevent any future also. I'm looking for hopefully a registry setting that will hide or disable it.

There are two time when it pops up and hopefully I can handle both. The first is if a program becomes unresponsive and you try to close it. The second is when you are shuting down windows and a program is doing something else.

Thanks for your help.

-Aaron
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Uh...There's no way to stop those, dude. They're telling you that the application/service has become unstable or unresponsive, and are trying to give you the option to kill it or wait it out.

Since this is usually associated with a problem, maybe you should fix the problem. Then those option screens won't be "causing me problems".
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

Well I'm pretty sure there is a way to stop the second one. That is with a registry setting I found while waiting for an answer, however, I'm pretty sure it is unrelated to the first one.

http://www.winguides.com/registry/display.php/199/
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Usually disabling it msconfig will stop it if it is a startp items. Also, there is a tweak that you can use to end nonresponsive programs now....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

and that would be...?

PS Warez...have you come up with anyother idea for my other post on the C Runtime Library Error?
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\desktop]
"AutoEndTasks"="0"
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Better yet, here's the file:
Attached Files
File Type: zip autoend.zip (2.5 KB, 13 views)
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.