Enabling Task Manager? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 248
Send a message via ICQ to shuaibao Send a message via AIM to shuaibao Send a message via Yahoo to shuaibao
Default Enabling Task Manager?

I made myself Administrator of the computer by logging into the other administrator account on the computer. Before, I was Limited account. When I was limited, I could not use the Task Manager. Still, I cannot use the task manager when I am adminstrator. How do I enable it? I am adminstrator and I also have access to the other admin account (but I don't want to use the other admin acct)
__________________

__________________
I have ADD that stands for Attention Defecit hey look a birdie!

<a href=\"http://www.shuaiking.org/\">www.shuaiking.org: my blog</a>
shuaibao is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

its a group policy setting. click start, run. type poledit and look through the options.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

poledit is for 95/98/ME. Gpedit is for XP.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

oops good catch that for the correction.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

what happens when you do the following?

start, run
taskmgr

This should load the taskmanager. If not, do you get an error?
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daappleby
oops good catch that for the correction.
NP....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.