Enabling Internet Cookies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Question Enabling Internet Cookies

What's Up? I've got a problem here that I was wondering if I could get some advice about. Recently my home built computer crashed and I had to erase the hard drive and reinstall everything. I did that and everything seems to be working fine. The only problem is that while surfing the internet, the computer won't accept any cookies. I am unable to log into any websites and I am writing this message from another computer. I am using dial-up internet provided by Walmart Connect. I'm using the same installation cd that I have used before and it worked fine before. I've looked through all of the internet options and can't figure it out. The problem still exists regardless of whether I'm running Zone Alarm or not, and it's the same using the Walmart Connect browser or Internet Explorer. Walmart Connect won't reply to my questions about this. Do you think it's the internet service or my computer settings? I can always erase the hard drive again and reinstall, though I would prefer not to. My local Walmart doesn't have any more cds to try. I would appreciate any help anyone could give on this matter. Thanks.

I'm running Windows 98 SE and here are my computer specs:
AMD Athlon XP 1900+
FIC AN11 Stealth Motherboard
Crucial 256mb DDR PC2100 RAM
PNY GeForce 3 Ti 200
Enlight Case and 300W PS
Conexant V.90 56K Modem
Creative Soundblaster Live 5.1
Leadtek Winfast TV Tuner
Samsung Syncmaster 955DF
Creative Inspire 5.1 Speakers
__________________

nhandy007 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Is the slider bar in internet options>privacy set all the way down??
__________________

__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 12:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Where is that privacy bar at? In the internet options I have these tabs: general, security, content, connections, programs, advanced. I can't find it in there.
nhandy007 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 164
Default

strange ! in my internet options i have :
general, s├ęcurity, privacy, content, connections, programs, advanced. what version of IE are you running ?
__________________
\"you cant hold a good techie down\"
petogaz is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Sorry, i didnt notice its windows 98. Click on the security tab.
Then click on select internet and click on custom level.
In there u would find two options to enable cookies.
Hope this works.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Replying to petogaz: I am running Internet Explorer version 5.5 Maybe I should download the update to it.
nhandy007 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Replying to Maverick Tech: I enabled both kinds of cookies and tryed it and it didn't work. Then I put where it prompts you about taking a cookie. When I would go to websites, it would prompt me, and I would accept the cookie. Still I couldn't log in to any websites and looking at my temp. internet files, there weren't any actual cookies in there. Thanks for the posts and please keep them coming. I appreciate it.
nhandy007 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 04:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

I do think updating IE would be a good idea.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I installed IE version 6. This gave me the privacy tab in the internet options. I set it all the way down and enabled cookies in the security tab, and was able to get some cookies. Still I can't log into websites. Like when I go to fool.com, the login page still comes up saying that my browser wouldn't accept the cookie, so I can't log in. This also goes for other websites. If anyone has anymore suggestions, please post. Thanks.
nhandy007 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 11:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Have a look at this
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;175662
__________________

__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.