Enable Hibernate In Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2008, 05:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to optimist4613
Default Enable Hibernate In Vista

Could someone tell me how to enable Hibernate in vista, it seems to have gone.

I heard that it was something to do with typing powercfg to get it back. Any help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

__________________
Dells are good for somethings bad for others! Not!
:freak:
optimist4613 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

I'm having the same problem! I have no idea wher eit went!
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

powercfg –h on

remember google is your friend.
ECTech is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

erm... how does it work? where do I put it? in Run? (trying that now)

nevermind
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

the powercfg command will enable hibernation if it was disabled. open up control panel then power options. you have to choose either, "energy star" or "power saver" plans. after you pick the plan you want then click "change plan settings".
next, click "advanced power settings" under the sleep category you should see "hibernate after" and you can adjust the amount of time your computer will stay awake.
ECTech is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Thumbs down Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by ECTech View Post
powercfg –h on

remember google is your friend.
Tried that...and tried this too:
* Go to the command prompt icon in the Start menu under Accessories and right click the icon: click "Run as administrator".
* Paste: "powercfg.exe /hibernate on" and hit Enter and also paste "powercfg -h on" and hit enter just to be safe.
* Open Control Panel and type in "Hibernate" in the Search.
* Click "Turn hibernation on or off"
* Click "Change advance power settings"
* Scroll to and expand the "Sleep" option.
* Select "Off" to the "Allow hybrid sleep" option.
* Scroll to and expand the "Power buttons and lid" option.
* Select "Hibernate" for the "Sleep button action" option. 10. Select "Hibernate" for the "Start menu power button" option.


.......AND NOTHING STILL WORKS !
ezysk is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

Have yo uisntalled SP1? Have you installed updated driver and chipset drivers for your systems?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

I'm running Vista, and thought it should be automatically updating everything anyways.
ezysk is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Enable Hibernate In Vista

Chipset drivers are not a part of the Windows update. Never were. They were not updated in XP nor any previous versions. Same goes for many of the drivers. Sound drivers ad video drivers are for the first time just being added but they are only updated on ocassion caompred ot the manufacturer's real updated. While Windows Update might show the new version once or twice a year. The Sound drivers and Video driver for sure are updated way more often.

You can not rely on Windows update to keep your system up to date. That is just a tool to use to keep Windows, not your drivers, up to date.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
does vista media centre enable the user to eidt pictures and videos? rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-07-2007 06:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.