EMERGENCY! Mouse is dead - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 03:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Hmm, wireless usb mouse? guys, he probably spent good cash onnit. Most likely your drivers might've crapped on ya. If your mouse has a reset button use it. If it has a dock with a reset button hit that too.

You'll definately need to dig up soem drivers, if that fails then the mouse died somehow.

Anywho, yeah, as a temp fix you could just buy a cheap little mouse for the meantime.
__________________

__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 04:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

where I live you can get an optical mouse for 5.99 anywhere
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 05:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Replace batteries? Mice eat them up faster than many might think. Other than that, Makaveli was right, download the drivers and reinstall.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 06:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Default

ThE_MarD, you're right. That thing cost me $25 (and for me that's a lot). It's a miniture wireless USB optical wheel mouse, not a common combination.

The batteries are obviously not the problem, as device manager calls the receiver unrecognized and all the LEDs on the mouse itself are functioning. All the same I did change them for new batteries. No change.

I can't reinstall drivers because I seem to have to have damaged my XP installation disk and all the info about the manufacturer is accross the ocean.

Like I said I'm making do with a PS2 trackball. If I can solve this problem good. Otherwise I guess I can survive until I get back to the states.
ever_thus is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 07:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

there isn't a manufacturer name or model number on the mouse that you could search for?
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 07:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Unfortunately not.
__________________

ever_thus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.