EM Windows Installed.. But F'ed up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 08:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
you obviously have a hardware problem. if you look into my signature, you will see a link to 2 powermax utilities (cd or floppy). you should have powermax, already. it comes with maxtor hard drives.

download one and test your HDD. that will eliminate it from being a problem (use memtest above to check your ram to eliminate that).powermax also has an erase HDD feature that better than wiindows.
New problems have arose and I need to check my hard drive. But I use nForce 4 so the stated software program will not work. Any ideas?
__________________

wanghoeby is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 10:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

About your internet connection, if you are at home, and you configure your internet to go through proxy, you will not be able to go out to internet. You need to go to internet properties, and clear the proxy check box, and just above it select automatically detect setttings. Do you have an ip address? go to start>run>type cmd>press enter>type ipconfig and press enter. If you have an ip address, try to ping google.com. If you dont, verify your cables are plugged in, and also verify that you have the NIC installed. Right Click on my computer>go to properties> select the hardware tab> choose device manager. Make sure that it is installed properly. If it is installed and you were able to ping google.com, you need into internet properties and click the advanced tab, and restore defaults. Close IE and try again.
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wanghoeby
New problems have arose and I need to check my hard drive. But I use nForce 4 so the stated software program will not work. Any ideas?
are you using nvidia's firewall?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
are you using nvidia's firewall?
I was until I got the blue screen flash then restart cycle. Then shut comp down and now I can't get the OS to load up.]

When my computer ran I used the nvidia's firewall.

For more details

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=68301
__________________

wanghoeby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.