either dual boot or 2 HD question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gee Wally

In Runtime
Hi Guys,

I am thinking on either dual booting or 2 HD's. What I would like to know is if I put WIN 7 on one HD and keep XP on another HD what do I need to do with the boot.ini and on which OS does it need to be done to? If not with the boot.ini, is there an easier way I can show both OS's as the PC boots up so I can pick the one I want to boot into.

Please bare with me in doing this as I have never done this before.

thanks

I've got Vista and Win7 on seperate hard drives, when i boot, it asks me which one to boot, and then if i click notyhing it boots after a while on the highlighted one

Havent had to change any files or anything....

My advice, specially since you never did this before is...dont start with a beta which windows 7 is. They are highly unpredictable. Pratice dual boot setups with xp and 2000 or even xp and vista to get your feet wet. Betas are for people who like to dabble in troubleshooting since its full of errors. I dont know if its worth that headache for you.

I've got Vista and Win7 on seperate hard drives, when i boot, it asks me which one to boot, and then if i click notyhing it boots after a while on the highlighted one

Havent had to change any files or anything....

So it is the same thing with 2 HD as it is with dual booting on 1 HD then. I have dual booted in the past and that is what shows up with both options upon boot up. That is good to know that it is done for me.

thanks.

Windows 7 does not use the boot.ini that is ending with XP. Windows 7 uses the BCD which came along with Vista.

Just install Win7. It should auto detect the XP install and give you a entry for it. If not then we can fix it afterwards.