Editing a PC game - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2007, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Editing a PC game

If I were to take the game starcraft and make an iso image of it on my computer, and then take the file that actually starts the game and edit the path so that it doesn't point to the disk drive anymore... where would I find such a file to do this?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 02:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Editing a PC game

If you want to play your games purchased (or not) without having to open the cd, just download a no cd/dvd patch. I believe it's LEGAL if you have purchased the pc-game, if not, it's another story.

_________________
Mike from Greece, 14
__________________

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Editing a PC game

yeah if you have it just dl the no-cd crack from gamecopyworld.com
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 06:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Editing a PC game

Just mount an image on you hard drive.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Editing a PC game

MegaGames - The Hardcore Gaming Experience has alot of no-cd fixes as well.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Editing a PC game

I tried mounting the image before I posted my question but it didn't work... the game is StarCraft. I think a file points to the disk itself to load up.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 12:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Editing a PC game

Go to somewhere like Gamecopyworld.com (like TheEnd said) and find the right version that you have. It usually tells what version you have on the disc/package somewhere, or else on the title screen in one of the corners. If not, navigate to the game's directory, and then hover over the exe file, and see if a version number comes up in the hover text. Then just go to gamecopyworld.com and search for "Starcraft" and then look for your game's version of a No-CD/DVD patch =). Done it numerous times with all of my PC games, because I don't like to have to put in a disc all the time xD.

Quote:
I believe it's LEGAL if you have purchased the pc-game, if not, it's another story.
Yes, its perfectly legal if you own the original game and want to patch it. No worse than installing a game mod to it (because essentially, that's what it is).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stalker robina_80 PC Gaming 14 09-04-2007 08:37 AM
PHP 2-player game? thejeremy Programming 4 04-09-2007 06:01 PM
Echoes new game from Binary Zoo Osiris PC Gaming 0 04-05-2007 08:26 AM
Can't reinstall a game (that failed during install) Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-04-2007 03:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.