dwwin.exe error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 09:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default dwwin.exe error

I recently get a error when shutting down my laptop:

Hp nx9600 p4 530

The error says: dwwin.exe - dll initialization failed.

So far i found out ( by googleing) the process is related to Dr. watson and there are some registry fixes for it that I'm gonna try.

But so far the info is very vague. if any one has already encountered this please post their solution.

Thanks.
__________________

wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you try those reg fixes yet?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Yeah I tried 2 and no help. Now I think the issue might be caused by us running a access application made in office 2003 on the laptop. the laptop has office 2000 on it. I'm currently updating to office 2003 to see if this works. Will post back with results.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Was this one of the reg edits you did?

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AeDebug

Deleting AeDebug, should disable Dr. Watson all together... This didn't work?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

no I meant registry cleaners. If the update don't work I'll try that next. Thanks.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

The upgrade to office 2003 eliminated my errors. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.