Dvd Shrink/Nero Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default Dvd Shrink/Nero Question

I just swapped out my cd drive and installed an old dvd rom drive. My goal here was to back up a dvd directly from my dvd rom to my dvd burner......without having to store it to a temp folder first, which is what i used to do. Can this be done? Dvd shrink doesnt seem to give me an option.....thanks

Edit: Well it saves me now from having to do it in a 2 stage process which is a pain, so I guess im good to go....
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I dont reckon that you would be able to. Reason is: DVDShrink takes time to process and, well, shrink the movie. Therefore, DVDShrink wouldnt be able to keep up with the burning as well as shrink the movie.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

with dvd shrink and nero you can burn it straight to disc after it is copied to the hard drive
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

thanks for the replies....yeah before i would have to swap the movie out and put in a blank, whereas now i can walk away and come back a 1/2 hour later and its all done. yeah it has to go to the hard drive first, right...thanks guys.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yes. it has to put the encoded and unencrypted files somewhere.
if the dvd is 4.7 or less and unencrypted you can do a straight disc copy in nero
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.