DVD not working, not a hardware problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2005, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default DVD not working, not a hardware problem!


I have this wierd problem that I can't get rid of, here it is...

A couple of days ago my DVDs stopped playing, I tried them on my DVD Rom and my DVD RAM, both are doing the same thing, when I put the DVD in and boot it, then an error message appears, and it closes the program, I tried it with AsusDVD and windows media player and both are doing the same thing...

It's not hardware related because both players r doing the same thing, and not software related because both programs r doing the same thing...

I tried a lot of things but nothing's helping, I tried to restore to a previous point, it worked for one movie and then the next day it was happening again....The wierdest thing is that I formatted my computer, formatted both HDs on my computer, reinstalled Win XP, then I watched a movie and everything was fine, and today I tried to watch another movie and the problem came back...

So even after the format it came back...I don't have any virus or spyware that I know of, I have norton antivirus 2005 updated, and I have ad-aware SE personnal and Spybot S&D....

If there is another program that I installed that is causing this then it's hard to know which one, because I installed all these ones....Evequest, Evequest 2, World of warcraft, Si Meier's pirates, Path of RYL, Rome Total war, Steam and CS, Baldur's gate 2, Heroes of Might & Magic 4, Lords of everquest, Daemon tools, Winzip, winRAR, Azereus...

These are the programs I installed since yesterday when I played a DVD and it worked...

Thank you for your help

Nausicaa is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

reseat the ide cables to the drives. put the drives in another machine if you can.

office politics is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Not a cable problem

I don't have another machine, and the cables aren't the problem in my opinion, because if they were then I wouldn't be able to play other video formats...which I can...I can play anything except for DVD format...And when I formatted after the problem persisted, everything started working again....then everything stopped working...
Nausicaa is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

maybe you have wrong or corrupted drivers. Maybe you have non at all after the format...
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Drivers updated

I reinstalled the drivers and still doing the same thing....
Nausicaa is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

try uninstalling the ide drivers, then reboot
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Found the problem


Thank you all for the help...I finally found the problem...

My daemon tools was interfering with my AsusDVD playback program...

I got interplay winDVD now and everything is perfect

I discovered thee problem by uninstalling each and every program on my computer and trying to work the DVDs with each one lol

Nausicaa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.