DVD Load Loop Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Angry DVD Load Loop Error

Recently I have been having problems with my DVD drive. It will not load ANY dvd-rom that I insert and will sit in an infinite spin-up/spin-down loop like it is trying to read the disk but then gives up... then tries again.The drive is not locked and ejects the disk when I push the eject button.
I think I know the cause but not the solution. It all started when I inserted a blank dvd disk and the stupid little "autoplay" dialog appeared asking what action I wanted to take. I checked the little box that said something to the effect of "do not ask again for this type of disk" and then clicked "Take no action" . Any help would be appriciated.
BTW I am running WinXP SP2 on a DELL Inspiron 6000 (notebook) if that helps at all. And I have all of the newest Windows Update (execpt for the security updates that are pointless)
__________________

MysticHobo is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

right click the drive in my computer > properties > autoplay tab > drop down list and select dvd > then click the prompt me each time button > reinsert the disk and see what happens.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you jcortes for your sugestion but this didn't help at all and oddly enough it was already set to "prompt me each time".
Interestingly it I do not get the loop error when I put in a DVD movie, instead it "reads" the disk one time and then reports no disk in the drive. I would have/should have mentioned this in my original post but I don't watch DVD on my computer very often and hadn't noticed it before.
MysticHobo is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

http://support.dell.com/support/down...&os=WW1&osl=EN

go there and download the latest firmware for the drive that you have.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

You could also try to uninstall then reinstall the DVD player. Sometimes these things will correct themselves.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that couldnt hurt to try eather delete the drive from device manager and reboot and let windows rediscover it.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Unfortunatly neither of these ideas worked either. I already had the latest version of the firmware installed, but I reinstalled anyway incase of corruption. And uninstalling did nothing for me at all. It is times like these that I hate windows. You have things running fine, click one little checkbox to stop a stupid little window from popping up and suddenly stuff doesn't work anymore.
MysticHobo is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

couldnt hurt to try this.

this only works in PRO and Media center.
start > run > gpedit.msc > administrative templates > system > double click turn off autoplay > enable this function.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Unfortunatly I only have home edition of WinXP.
__________________

MysticHobo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.