DVD Burning Software and DVD CDs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default DVD Burning Software and DVD CDs?

I've got about 4.4GB worth of AVI files which I want to burn onto a DVD. I want this DVD to play in a DVD player... I also want to have chapters... So when I press skip scene it will play the next AVI file on the DVD...

What software would I use to burn?
What type of DVD would I burn onto?
How big should the DVD CD be?

I'm pretty new with all this... Thanks for your input
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i have done this with Nero 7 recently. I burned about 100 episodes that i had on my HDD.

I have menus that are animated with music. It has chapters. The whole shot.

So i would suggest Nero 7. I use Ultra Edition i dont know if it works with the others or not since i have Ultra.
I burned mine onto a DVD+R and it works just fine with my DVD players that i have tried it with.
I have gotten up to 13-30minute episodes on 1 disc. It did compress them a bit. But if you leave it at file size you will get about 5 or so 30minutes episodes on a disc.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You actually have to have some DVD Authoring software to compile the DVD and its needed files. The video files must be a format that is supported by DVD either MPEG-1 or MPEG-2. I usually convert all my videos that I wish to compile to MPEG-1 to make the DVD compileation go smoothly.

Once you have the prepped files I use a program called TMPGenc DVD Author that lets me build the chapters, menus, etc etc..very user friendly. Then when you done it creates the VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders with all the DVD video files you will need to burn the DVD and make it playable on a home DVD player. You can also use this program to burn the DVD or you can use another such as Nero.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Ineteresting Mak I didnt know Nero had this capability...I have to look at this now I to have Nero 7 Premium..not sure if this is higher or lower than Ultra?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I think Nero 7 Ultra is the highest. but i have done it with over 10 GB of stuff. Not pr0n either but some old Transformers episodes i had. When i put it in for a disc copy it doesnt get recognized as a DVD Movie. But it plays like that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Thanks guys... Do DVD storage capacities vary?

Which capacity did you use Mak?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I use 4.5GB for my DVD's. I do have a DL Burner which can hold 9GB but i dont have any blanks of those available. So i just use the regular single layer discs.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

How do you know if you have a double layer burner? Woudl it say on the front?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

My mum bought some DVD cds... It says on the front

DVD-R
DVD Recordable/DVD inscriptable
1-16x Speed
4.7GB Single Sided

Do you think that will work? The guy at the shop said DVD+R will only work on cheap DVD players not the DVD-R...

What do you think? Will it work? I onyl have a cheapo DVD players...
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
Ineteresting Mak I didnt know Nero had this capability...I have to look at this now I to have Nero 7 Premium..not sure if this is higher or lower than Ultra?
Premium, Ultra. potato, potaato. they are the same program.
use recode or the nero vision part
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.