dump of physical memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2003, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default dump of physical memory

my computer went to a screen giving hex location where a memory dump is occuring and it said it has to do with ALCXWDM.SYS.. it is a memory dump

can anyone please tell me what the deal is, is it my ram?

ajoyce is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18

Here are my specs

win 2k
msi kt3 ultra motheboard
ge-force 4 mx 440
100gb Wd hdd
420 watt ps
512 pc2100 ram
amd athlon xp 2000

my computer used to restart a lot before. BUt that turned out to be a minidump error caused my NAV. I fixed that and it worked great for a long time till now. Now i get a actual screen with a message saying, phyical dump and all the other stuff above.
I have onboard sound with a msi 6 channel audio device..any other ideas, thanks a lot for your help!!!

ajoyce is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 02:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 223
Default msi kt3 ultra


This may help...

I have that motherboard and had similar problems. Turns out the driver that msi.tw listed a few months ago was different from the one that is there now for the on-board sound, or maybe the route to searching/clicking to it may have led to different files...or maybe i downloaded the one from the german site... I had real problems getting to their main/english site for a while at the time.

Anyway, I use the Realtek AC97 audio driver. There was another driver that wasn't labeled Realtek, and it worked for the on-board sound but I had crashing problems and getting it to recognize my rear speakers was an issue.

After getting the Realtek AC97 drivers on, I also turned down the hardware accel in sound properties, since it was chirping a bit while loading some games... Regardless, I just updated my drivers from their site and it works, so if you haven't done the driver update dance...this might help.


Oh, and fyi..many flavors-- KT3, KT3 Ultra, KT3 Ultra ARU, and KT3 Ultra2 which may have different drivers for the onboard stuff. Mine is the KT3 Ultra ARU 6380 E
chalk is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

i would agree on the soudcard being the culprit.
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18

Ok, I will try your ideas. Thanks a lot and if you can thank of anything else please post..Thanks again
ajoyce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.