Dual Monitor Wallpaper - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 04:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default Dual Monitor Wallpaper

I downloaded some Dual monitor wallapapers from Deviantart and i need to know how to set it up correctly.

Currently it shows the same wallpaper on both monitors but what it should do is show half the wallpaper on one, and half on the other.

Please Help

Thanks
Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Thats a setting you need to change on your video card. On my Nvidia, I can go in and select the option that will stretch my desktop across both screens as if it were on screen. One thing I dont like like about it, it stretches your taskbar all the way across your screen.
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Do you want Dual View or Stretch? Stretch just stretches the screen over the two monitors, and dual view gives you two different views on your computer.
Him is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Currently i have it so it extends my Windows Desktop onto the other monitor so i can put programs like msn or whatever on the other monitor. But the wallpaper is duplicated on both monitors.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

I believe thats the only way to do it with DualView.

You'd have to go to Horizontal Span mode to use dual monitor wallpapers, which is, in my opinion, a crappy mode.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I hate spanned, but yes, I think you can only have duplicate wallpapers, though I'm not completely sure. I imagine you could get a third party program to fix it, or maybe NVidia has something, but I'm not sure. When I hook up my computer, I will try and play with that, but I think you have it the only way you can.
Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 04:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I came across this program called Ultramon which does the job fantasticly. However it costs a bit.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 04:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Oh, you know what? I read an article a little while ago telling you how to build crazy systems. Showed you how to build a computer with 5 monitors (yes, 5) and use some top of the line program and stuff. It was cool. I forget what the name of it was, Taiwan something I believe, dont remember. I will try and find it.
Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Just get a computer with 5 pci slots and a AGP. Get your good GPU in the AGP port (like a 6600 or 6800gT) and fill the rest of the slots with Radeon 7500's or Geforce 2's then you have the capability of 10 or more monitors.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 05:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

That setup can cause ugly driver confilicts, but it would be very cool. I beleive that if you use photoshop or somethign similar to edit your image to the size of your dual monitors (ire if you have 2 1024x768 displays, make you edited wallpaper 2048x768. Once you have it scaled (if you have monitors of different resolutions, then edit in a black bar where there is "no" monitor coverage (look at the display orientation in the display settings to see if you need to worry about it. Anyway, once you have the image scaled, set it as you background and set it to "tile" or "center." I have not yet tried this myself, but have heard that it works.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.