dual monitor performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2004, 05:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34
Unhappy dual monitor performance

I'm posting this on the hardware forum as well to see if I can get a different angle. The situation is: ATI RADEON 9200 AGP and GeForce FX 5200 PCI. I can get them to work together in dual monitors, but my primary (AGP card) monitor sacrifices OpenGL speed and my secondary monitor (PCI) sacrifices everything except for a picture on the screen (lowest resolution and 4-bit color and can't change it). Does anyone have a suggestion on how I might change this. Oh, and I'm using Ultramon now to attempt to get them to work, but it's not doing too well.

confusedideal is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45

There's no way it would work like that because when you use the agp slot all of the graphics capability go to it first then any that may be left can go to pci or integrated.

DB_13 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34

But that's what I want to happen. I want all the graphics to go to the AGP. I've got all the latest drivers installed. Please, someone actually help me on this.
confusedideal is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17

Does your ATI RADEON 9200 AGP support dual monitor? if it does just get a dvi to crt converter and use both monitors through one video card. If not then buy a card that has this feature. Motherboards do not support the use of two video cads, yeah you do have a pci card but when you think about it you should stay away from pci cards what it comes to video cards, thats why many manufaturers use agp slots, they are more reliable, pci slot dont tranfer enough data rate as most of todays card need to perform.
o0krylon0o is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Thrstbster

You need use Nvida's software to control all of the settings Dl it form Nvidia (Nview or something) ther eyou can controll everything I just did but MY AGP was a Nvdia and MY PCI was a ATI may not work the other way around since you can install both sets of info I tried. I will see if i can get you the website to DL it from Once i get my problems solved on my pc
Thrstbster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.