Dual booting with XP and 2000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2006, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Dual booting with XP and 2000

I'm trying to create a dual booting system with Windows 2000 Pro and XP Pro. I installed 2000 and then a preconfigured Windows 2000 image, followed by XP and everything works fine. Unfortunately, when I load the XP image, I can get to the login screen and log in, but then nothing else loads besides a blank screen. The image by itself works fine but while loaded with 2000 it does not.

Any suggestions/has this happened to anyone else?
__________________

ribbet is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Can you boot into Windows XP Safe Mode?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

Yes, I can.
ribbet is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

tell us how you went about this
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

First, I partioned the 80GB HDD into two sections, C: being 35GB and D: being the remainder. On C: (Primary) I installed Windows 2000 and a pre-tested, working Windows 2000 image. I then installed Windows XP on D: (Logical) and everything worked fine as well. Then when I installed a pre-tested, working Windows XP image, I can only go as far as logging in. After that I only see a blank screen and nothing further loads. I can, though, boot into XP safe mode.
ribbet is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think it might have something to do with how the image is mounted...have you tried installing xp from scratch instead of the image?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.