Dual booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2006, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Dual booting

ok so im new to dual booting so i have a few Q's before i go ahead and do it.

firstly id liek to say abit abotu my setup i have

1 - 30GB HDD which is my master drive and is home of my OS (winXPpro)

1 - 238GB HDD which is my slave drive being used for backup and storage only.
this drive has 3 partitions like so:

1x 99.9GB - used for media back up
1x 93.8GB - used for apps and games backup
1x 39.0GB - which i want to use for DUAL BOOTING (to test out some custom slipstreams of mine)

my 1st question is:

1.even though my new OS location will be the 39GB partition once the OS is installed will i still be able to use the other partitions as normal as they are on the same drive?

2. are there any chanegd i nede to make in the BIOS or to my jumpers as i want it to boot with a list of my OS's and i select whcih OS to boot then it boots?

3. do i NEED any 3rd party software to dual boot? if so any recomendations?

many thanks
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

well the way i do it is to use two seperate hard drives like you do and i just change the boot order in bios to the drive i want to boot to......i know there is programs to make it an option in bios but it modifies your master boot record and then if u decide to take a certain installation off your boot up is still modified.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, i think
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what os's are you going to setup?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 08:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I use a dual boot of Windows xp pro and fedora linux worked fine on two partitions could acess the data aslong as it was in a readable format for both Os's and linux was installed on 5gb partition of 35gb hdd there are plenty of third-party bootloaders which are easy to use and when you remove the extra Os some have options to reset to original boot-up record or you can use a windows recovery cd and just reinstall the boot system.

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
what os's are you going to setup?
i want to keep my XPpro im using now but also have another XPPRO to test my slipstreams n stuff on
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

get partition magic. it wil hide one xp while you install another.

this will keep both drive as c drive. you use the pq boot to pick which one you want to boot to. pm has a install another os wizard
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
get partition magic. it wil hide one xp while you install another.

this will keep both drive as c drive. you use the pq boot to pick which one you want to boot to. pm has a install another os wizard
thanks, i use partiotion magic already didnt know it had those features
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

can i still dual boot in this way if all my HDD's and partiotions are formated in NTFS?
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

delete the 2nd os partition 1st. Pm will reformat it later in the dual boot setup
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.