Dual Boot XP + Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2008, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Dual Boot XP + Vista

I've been through this guide: How to dual-boot Vista with XP - step-by-step guide with screenshots

I have one 300GB drive with XP on it and one 320GB drive with nothing on it.

If I want to install Vista, I just have to go through the installation process and select the empty drive to install on right?

Then when it's done, I use the Vista bootloader and it's done right?

Anyone with experience?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

I have tons of experience. Yes you are right. Install it on the 2nd drive and it should auto detect yoru XP install and give you the dual boot setup after it finishes the install.

If not jsut stop on back and i can help you get it working right.

Might want to partition the drive though. Give Vista only about 50GB-75GB. No need for all 320GB.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

I know you have tons of experience. That's why you are the Microsoft guru here.

Why not give it all? Also, my rig can handle it right?

What about uninstalling? Do I just use Gpart to wipe the drive since the bootloader is on the second drive.

What about the MBR (no experience)? I know XP's is on the first drive. If I uninstall Vista, will I need to do fixmbr?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

You can. But remember Vista does not have a repair option. So if something goes wrong you will have to format and reinstall the whole OS. So you will lose all data on there. If you are fine with that then by all means use it all.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

Well, this is just a experiment with a empty drive and with Vista.

If it goes wrong, I'll just nuke it with Gparted. But what about uninstalling?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
I know you have tons of experience. That's why you are the Microsoft guru here.

Why not give it all? Also, my rig can handle it right?

What about uninstalling? Do I just use Gpart to wipe the drive since the bootloader is on the second drive.

What about the MBR (no experience)? I know XP's is on the first drive. If I uninstall Vista, will I need to do fixmbr?
Answered the question of space. So let me move on from there. You rig can handle it you meet the specs. But to be honest you might want more RAM. 1GB is fine but you will notice that it is slower than XP.

As for the uninstall. Just use GParted to wipe the drive. As for the MBR after you format jsut use the XP CD and the REcovery Console and so a fixboot, fixmbr. All done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Well, this is just a experience with a empty drive and with Vista.

If it goes wrong, I'll just nuke it with Gparted. But what about uninstalling?
If it is just a experiement with Vista then give it all. If it goes wrong GParted will be your friend. I explained the uninstall option above.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

If it's just an experiment, you could always use VMWare or an equivelant. I have one set up for Vista right now...you just don't get to use Aero, and I haven't quite figured out how to get the internet to work on it...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

ok guys. Thanks for all the help. I'll see if I can load it on tonight.

VMWare is just a software Windows emulator on XP right? But is there slow downs? I want to have a genuine go at it so I want it to go on the hard drive.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

VMWare is a Virtual Machine where you only use part of your resources to test out things. I dont use it cause i do not like having half of my resouces on my Main OS then half on my Vitrual System.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Boot XP + Vista

OK. But VMWare runs inside XP right? But it just uses half the resources?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on vista boot ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-21-2008 04:10 AM
xp and vista dual boot help Ruler Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-01-2007 03:10 PM
Cant Boot Into Vista Anymore SpikedCola Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:47 PM
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM
Linux vista dual boot mikee Linux and Open Source 12 04-01-2007 08:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.