Dual boot Windows/Linux - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Dual boot Windows/Linux

Currently, I am running Windows XP Pro on my laptop, and I am in the process of downloading Slackware 10.1 and I would like to, at least for the time being, use them in conjunction on the laptop. You know, dual boot.

I'm new to Linux, very new, and I need my laptop, which is why I want them both for right now. Otherwise, I would wipe my laptop and throw on Linux. But as of right now I cant afford to be without my laptop while I am learning a new OS.

A free dual boot program would be great, or a way to set them up in a dual boot config.

Thanks!
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well firstly Linux will need it's own partitions to be installed. You can use unpartitioned space or sort it out with PartitionMagic or something. Then you can install Linux alongside Windows, and Linux will install a bootloader, probably LILO or Grub, for you, and it will auto-detect Windows. When you start the computer you will get a menu of which OS to start.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I recommend you do not use lilo or grub so deselect the option when promted. The thing is lilo and grub is known to sometime not add windows partitions so use the defualt one microsoft gives you.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

The one Microsoft gives you does not detect Linux. If LILO or Grub does not detect Windows then all you simply have to do is boot from the XP CD, go to the recovery console and type "fixmbr". This will reload the Windows default bootloader into the MBR.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

And you would honestly do all of this? I find that too much work for daily use.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

It's not a lot of work really. Usually it will all be sorted out when you install Linux. If not then it's not a big problem.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

back up ur stuff first
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.