dual boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2005, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default dual boot problem

Ok here is the thing. On this laptop i was fixing for a friend, they had windows me and there was a problem with the system files and you could not access the laptop not even in safe mode. SO what i did was install windows 2000. I thought i did an upgrade but i guess i installed it on a different partition making it a dual boot. The one os doesnt work and the other works fine. How do i get rid of the windows me so that it will not go to the boot menu and just load windows 2000
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Im not sure if 2000 has msconfig, but if it does, go to the boot.ini folder and click check all boot paths and delete the nonworking one.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

thanks dude it worked great
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Yae but the OS (or what's left of it) and files are still there. You need to go to the disk manager in 2000 and format the partition that ME was on.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by benzimm86
thanks dude it worked great
aaaaah, 2000 does not come with msconfig
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

How did you fix it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.