Dual Boot-Please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2004, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Dual Boot-Please help

I'd like to set up my computer to dual boot windows XP & Linux. I currently have XP operating system installed on my laptop. How can I get my computer to dual boot both systems? Where can I download Linux? Please help me.
__________________

Circle is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

You can find many links to different Linux distrubutions by running google searches. Try going to Linux.org first and read about different versions and which on might be right for your needs. After you find one, for example, Fedora Core 1. This isn't the most fabulous Linux OS around, but it's good for beginners. Just download the images, burn the CDs and install the OS. Make sure that you have made 2 unformatted partitions on your hard drive (if you are going to share an XP drive.) Then the installation will walk you through formatting the partitions, and installing the OS. If you have installed Linux AFTER Windows, then it will formulate a dual boot for you.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the info. You've mentioned I need unformatted partition. How can I do that? What does that exactly mean? Since I'm a beginner, I don't really know.
Circle is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, do you have 1 hard drive? If you just have one, how big is it? You'll need to change the size of the C: partition to allow more partitions to be added. You can use XP's logical disk manager to an extent, but you aren't going to be able to change the size of the C: partition with this utility. I'd recommend Partition Magic from PowerQuest.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, I have only 1 hard drive C: 40GB. Available space: 3GB. So I have to buy Partition Magic to partition my C drive?

BTW, why do have to burn the iso files to CD? Is there anyway I can install directly by downloading to & running from C?
Circle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.