Dual Boot operating systems with Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default Dual Boot operating systems with Windows

Hi, I previously made a topic about creating a dual boot operating system, which worked fine with the help of some fine people on this forum.

There is only one thing, I have been asked about renaming the root directory when installing multiple operating systems.

I was told that this should automatically come up when installing a second operating system - but it didn't when I did it.

Is there any other way of renaming the root directory for the operating system before it installs?

Thank you in advance.
__________________

Techy_Heidi is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Not sure why you would need to rename the root directory. I have a dual boot Windows XP/Linux computer and did not have to do that.
__________________

__________________
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use partition magic. it will hide the other os when it's not in use
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I'm supposed to be doing this without the help of additional software really.

And I am doing a dual boot pc with 2 Windows operating systems, my boss wants me to know how to rename the root directory in the event that I have to install 2 operating systems that have the same named root directory.
Techy_Heidi is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the renaming thing is just so that one OS isn't installed in the same directory as an existing one, so the previous OS is not overwritten.

If you use Windows, the default directory is "C:\Windows\"
and no Linux distro I know uses the C:\Windows directory to install to.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

But what I need to know is, if I need to change it so my previous operating system isn't overwritten, how would it be done?

And I wouldn't be using Linux, my company doesn't deal with that, it is for 2 Windows operating systems...
Techy_Heidi is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Techy_Heidi
But what I need to know is, if I need to change it so my previous operating system isn't overwritten, how would it be done?
just use different directories for each OS

Quote:
And I wouldn't be using Linux, my company doesn't deal with that, it is for 2 Windows operating systems...
is it two XP's you're trying to install?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Hmm.. maybe i have not explained this right..

This is all training for my job. First i had to create a dual boot pc, then again using only one partition. They both worked fine.

Now my boss just wants me to find out how to change the root directory if it is every needed. If a client wants a dual boot pc, we won't have all that much control over what they want. So all i need is just a general idea on how to change the root directory if i ever need to. I won't actually be doing it, he just wants me to be able to explain it to him.

So it could be two versions of XP, or any combination of operating systems really (yes i know about the NTFS / FAT incompatibility for a dual boot pc with one partition, but you get what i mean - i hope).
Techy_Heidi is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

when you start the installation of any OS, it should give you the option to choose the directory to install in.

to dual boot, you just need to make the installation directories of each OS different.
for example, one Windows installation at C:\Windows, and the other at C:\WinXP
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I know it should, but it didnt when i did it before, and i did have to redo the dual boot a couple of times for various reasons, and not once did it ask me to do that. Could that have been because it was Win2k and XP? They have different root directories, so could that have been because it wasn't going to overwrite it?

And if this is not the case, is there any other way i could do it?
__________________

Techy_Heidi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.