Dual-Boot Configuration Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2006, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default Dual-Boot Configuration Question

Currently im running Xp Media Center on a 250 gig harddrive, and as part of my MCDST training, ive recieved a free software copy of Windows Professional to work on and train on, its only a 2 month trial...i was wondering if i could install it on my current harddrive if i could create two partions or do i need to get another HD...thanks
__________________

__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i'd make a new primary partition and install xp on it since it's only a 2 month trial.
no reason to make another windows folder on the c: IMO
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

To make another partition use a application called Partition Magic.

But in all honesty MCE will do just fine. MCE is just XP Pro with the Media Center addition. Take that away and it is just XP Pro. So why bother going thru all the trouble of installing a new OS when you already have it installed?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

Oh i did not know that..learn something new everything day...but the MCDST training involves changing operation system files and messing with the settings....and i personally do not want to mess with my MCE...but thanks for all the information
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

okay then my next suggestion will be to do this.

Make a image of your drive using either Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost. That way no matter what changes you make they can all be undone.

Just put the image you made back on after you make the changes.

But if that really isnt an option then your best bet is to use PM and make a partition for yourself to install the demo of XP for yourself to destroy. Then when the class is over you can just format the partition and use PM to put it back the way it was.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.