Dual Boot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Dual Boot?

I need to put win98 and xp on the same hard drive...
What do i need to do to make it work properly, is it, and will it be stable?

Is this called dual boot?

Thanks in advance,
Alexsabree
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

To Dual Boot you need to partition your drive with Partition Magic or an application like that. That way it will be like having 2 hard drives in 1. this way you can install 98 on 1 partition and XP on the other without any issues.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default

or you use VM Ware Player, it is for free, you just have to search the i-net for a virtual machine.
With VM-Vare you can boot Windows 98 during Windows XP is running, you just have to switch windows
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

ok thanks guys... didnt know about the partioning thing.. but now i know

What about having one OS?? Does it need to be partioned?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

If you use only 1 OS then you dont need to partition. But i still suggest it since this way if something were to go wrong an you had toformat you could keep important files and application installer on the other partition without fear of loosing them.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

so if there is two partions on one hard drive, you could partion one and not the other?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You can partition any hard drive any # of times. what i mean by the above is that if you have a Partition specifically for the Operating System and you store your applications and personal files on the other partition, you would be in better shape.

What i mean is since you will have 2 partitions. 1 with the OS and the other. So if something were to go wrong with the OS and you had to format you would only lose the OS partition. Not all your personal files and such. That way you could just format and reinstall the OS without having to worry about finding all of the application executables for things like Firefox and that since you could already have them.

The same can be said for drivers. If you store them on the other partition you wouldnt have to worry about having to find a way to download them and transfer then to the system. They would already be there waiting for you to isntall them.

This is just a more simple way to protect your info from loss incase the worst should happen. You should still back up but only like once a month compared to teh weekly backups i would suggest without a seperate partition.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 09:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Michael_R.
or you use VM Ware Player, it is for free, you just have to search the i-net for a virtual machine.
With VM-Vare you can boot Windows 98 during Windows XP is running, you just have to switch windows
are you sure vm ware player???
__________________
cuong
snoopyAU is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

VMWare is just like running a application. So in a sense he is correct. You would just have to make sure that VMWare was teh active window and you could have control over the Windows 98 install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Default

i'm, actually using VM ware now , but i dint' know it's for free
__________________

__________________
cuong
snoopyAU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.