Dual Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Dual Boot

Does anyone know how to dual-boot Windows Vista 32-bit and Windows Vista 64-bit on the same hard drive?
Thanks
__________________

Zanjo is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Set-up two partions on your Hard drive, or use two hard drives. When Vista installs, tell each version to install on a C drive, and the other copy to install on a D drive.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...multiboot.mspx
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Is any other config required? Or does it work like a linux bootloader does?
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

When you boot up, if it's installed on the main HD as two partitions, it will say Windows Vista, listed twice (one is 64-bit, one is 32-bit). If it's two hard drives, you'll have to boot from each hard drive from the BIOS.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 02:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Will it say which vista it is in the boot up? such as Windows Vista (x86) and (x64)
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You're asking the wrong person.

Ask Google!


EDIT:

http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=...e+Search&meta=
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zanjo
Will it say which vista it is in the boot up? such as Windows Vista (x86) and (x64)
No it will not say the difference. But honestly why install both versions? The only real difference is that the 32 Bit has a bigger driver support as XP 32 Bit has a bigger driver support than x64.

Other than that both builds will be identical. Aside from 32Bit and 64Bit that is.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 05:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Driver support was the only reason, my audio is really bad in 64bit.
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 05:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It wont be much better in 32 Bit. Not many drivers for sound work in Vista period. I have had to use a 3rd party driver to get my Creative Audigy 2ZS to work. The Creative driver crashed Vista.

What sound card do you have i might be able to help.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 06:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

It is a integrated HD audio device that comes with the Gigabyte GA-M55plus-S3G motherboard Details
The driver does work, however the sound has static and randomly jumps in places. I tried installing the Realtek 64bit driver, but that didnt improve the audio at all.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.