Dual Boot?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Dual Boot??

I just got windows vista and i wanna try it out. I know you can install 2 OS on one HDD but im not sure how to do it. Can anyone help me out here by explaining Step By Step??

Thnx for the help
Stevo808
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 06:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It isnt recommended to install 2 OS's on the same HDD. What will happen is that the files for XP will become .old files and the Vista will be the ones used. Which in turn can corrupt your XP isntall since it is trying to use the current Windows files which are actually for Vista.

You are better off getting partition magic and making a seperate partition for this. It will save you a LOT of hassle in the long run.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Awesome ill do that then. Thanks for the help

Stevo808
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Not a problem. If you have any more question about the install and setup of Vista just ask.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Awesome i got it working but then during the setup it gave me an error. Which i think the one i got is corrupted.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Which Error did you get. It migh not be a corrupted download there might just be something else that is wrong.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

well i gotta re-install it again to see the error, i dont have much time on my hands but ill get to you when ill do it.
__________________

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.