Dual boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Default Dual boot

I want to dual boot Windows and linux in a laptop. Windows is already installed on a partition. I have a swap partition and a linux partition. How do I install linux so that it will give me an OS option when it is turned on? Or is it automatic and linux just needs to be installed?
__________________

scuba14c is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 07:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

Scuba,

when you install Linux it should give you the option of installing a Bootloader such as Grub or Lilo, be sure to install it to the MBR (master boot Record). which Linux distro are you using,, this will give me a better Idea of which boot loader you are using so I can be of more help

this will give you some idea of what to expect when installing a boot loader even though it's red hat it should give you a starting point

http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...rade-lilo.html

http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ootloader.html

Or Alternitivly you can use a Graphical boot management system such as GAG the link bellow tells you all you need to know

http://www.hezardastan.org/breezy_xp...gagbootmanager

http://gag.sourceforge.net/

Sorry I can't be of more help to you,

Jake
__________________

__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Default

It will most likely be Kubuntu. If I install to the MBR, will this cause any problems with Windows?
scuba14c is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yup. you won't be able to boot back to it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Default

How do I install it so I have the option of OS's before one boots?
scuba14c is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Default

if you r installing the linux when previously you've got window ,
when you go in to the step of selecting whether or not you want to install the linux boot loader (GRUB i think)into the master boot record, choose yes or somting like that, and done u have dual boot system. and when the system reboot , up to the step it counts down, you need to press "Enter" in order to choose wat OS is gonna be booted,

If u want to go back with window boot loader , i think u need to have the window CD -> repair then type fixmbr , it will do it for you

good luck
__________________

__________________
cuong
snoopyAU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.