Driver update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 12:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Angry PLZ HELP!!!

I reformatted my system and installed everything again. Everything is going 100% apart I need to update my video card drivers to get my games to play better, GTA SA in particular. It will play with out the driver update but the player sometimes turn into a pile of pictures when moving which really wrecks the feel of the game. I had no problems playing before the reformat. When I download and install the driver update from the Nvidia website (http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp) it works ok till about 2 minutes into the game where windows shuts down saying ‘ windows has been shutdown to stop damage to your system and say that the video card is the problem. What can I do to update the card without getting this error? I think I must have had an older driver installed before the format as it work perfectly, is the anyway I can get an older driver?

Any help would be great
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It could be possible that the card is going bad. What is the temp of the card when you receive this error?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Whats the exact error message?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.